• Image of JK Soul - Take Me Higher

JK Soul - Take Me Higher

It was a love at first sound!!

JK Soul and vocalist Lala Pumpkin met during a tour with the best Slovenian MC’s “Emkej” in 2012. By the very first moment he listened to her captivating voice he new he had to work with her. At the same moment she listened to his fat beats and killer instrumentations she new she had to work with him. After a few gigs together they were sure.

JK Soul had a new vision for his new album “Take Me Higher”. He wanted to show the world his wide range of production skills and his capability of moving through the different styles of electronic music with class. Not a lover of sticking to any stylistic niche to mark his territory. Electronic music was always his playground so now House, Dubstep, Drum & Bass, together with touches of Reggae and Soul are equal parts in his new creations all of which are there to enrich his unique and famous hip hop based beats and soul influenced trip hop trademarks. Lala Pumpkin’s voice moves the listener far away, across the European borders and in the west side of the Atlantic, sounding so fresh and full of emotion but at the same time strong and certain of the capabilities that carries like a funk diva. Provides the perfect companion to JK Soul’s unique sounds.

“Take Me Higher” is rich in styles. JK Soul is neither afraid to play with boundaries, nor pass through them instead of over them. He combines all elements as if they were truly meant to be together. From the “surf” inspired bass on the opening track “Blow Rider” which blends masterfully with his heavy beats and Lala’s funk oriented vocals, to the dubstep monster that provides the album with it’s title and the 4/4’s La Kitara and Trumpet anthem, he composes tunes that will place a smile in everybody’s face. A new perception in every style with Cayetano supplying the base on which JK builds his wonderful remix of the track “Be My Queen” combineing massive hiphop beats with a dubsptep touch while the Rebel Elementz offering their voices in the reggae “Rebel Anthem” where JK shows us his thoughts on reggae music of the future. And as we talk about anthems and summer is near, “Summer Goodbye” will be definitely a hit in every beach across the planet. For the end of the trip JK Soul gives us “Catfish”, a down tempo composition flirting with early 40’s blues and last but not least the magnificent, slow moving “Hurts”.


1. Blow Rider
2. Take Me Higher
3. Illusions
4. Lovely Day
5. Haterz
6. Fool Moon
7. La Kitara
8. Shoo Be Doo
9. Trumpet Anthem
10. It’s Too Late
11. Summer Goodbye
12. Cayetano – Be My Queen (JK Soul Remix)
13. Rebel Anthem (Feat. Rebel Elementz)
14. Cat Fish
15. Love Is Just A Dream
16. Hurts